not your average zoe

life, love and knitting

top tip #4

Leave a comment

Yes I know, another amazing top tip to save energy (and a few pennies) this time.

If you don’t know by now, I am on a bit of an adventure trying to adopt a life of more voluntary simplicity, which doesn’t mean necessarily throwing my laptop out the window, cutting the plug off my telly and eating mungbeans whilst I meditate (although for some it does, and that’s great for them!).  No, VS is a movement whereby people do as much or as little for themselves to live a more considered, careful life with less stress, less/no debt – including mortgages, my dream!, less wastefully, more frugally and more environmentally aware.  Well it is to me anyway.

So this top tip stops me wasting energy resources AND saves some energy bills too!

Bonza.

So, being the jacket potato/food fiend I am, this is it:

I par cook 3 or 4 big potatoes in the microwave for 8 minutes on full have poked them all to prevent explosions.

I leave 3 to cool, so that then I have 3 ready to make roasties or jackets whenever I want much more quickly!

And the one I want to eat, I put a metal skewer through and put in the oven for 20 minutes.  The time to cook is muchly reduced because the metal skewer conducts electricity and dadaaah! it cooks from the middle too!  1h30 ->28minutes!

Brill, huh?

I learnt this at uni because the other wouldn’t let me waste 1h30 electricity and heat just for one potato, but microwaved only ones just don’t taste right!  The skin needs to be crispy!  Thank God for my clever physics studying friends…

Take care,

nyaz

PS – have you any top tips you’d like to share?

Author: notyouraveragezoe

for more info see my all about me page! tweet @noturaveragezoe

Leave a Reply

